Back to the job hunt grind

Seriously. This job market sucks.

Even when I was working as a temp for a few weeks, I kept sending those resumes out there.

I keep sending and sending and sending them. Got a few phone calls (very exciting!) from a couple of employment agent types last week. Thought I was on to something and they both said I was a good match and the company they were contracting for would “move fast.”

Wa-wa.

This is a getting-your-hopes-up-and-then-smiling-when-they-get-dashed-on-the-rocks kind of time.

When I last wrote about the job hunt, I was wailing about my car breaking down. The truth of the matter is, cars break down. Unexpected whatevers happen. They just do.

It only seems like a why-me situation when you’re down in the dumps. Can’t get a job. About to lose that 18-month-long COBRA ride. That’s when the car breaking down/have to get towed from Caldwell-blues can really hit hard.

But no worries — this week I’ve got a part-time temp job, receptionist at a salon. It’s nice to have a place to be.

I know this rollercoaster ride will end sometime. Hope I don’t puke at the end.

One response to “Back to the job hunt grind

  1. wpolscemamymocneseo

    You got a really useful blog. I have been here reading for about an hour. I am a newbie and your success is very much an inspiration for me.

Leave a Reply

