Fly friendly skies

boeing3

This is one of those stories that makes you proud of your fellow human beings, at least some of them.

About a year and a half ago, my son and I headed back East for my other son’s college graduation. We almost didn’t get there. But after a bleary-eyed mess of an airplane breakdown, a white-knuckled car rental driving experience, a near midnight flight departure miss, three red-eyes and one lost piece of luggage later — we made it.

And Delta heard about it. The airline issued two $100 vouchers to assuage our prickly experience.

Fast forward to last week when I went to use the Delta vouchers for my son’s Christmas trip home. But the airline wouldn’t accept them. “They just expired,” a Delta customer service rep said. Her manager said the same thing.

I sent an email to the official Customer Care department to no avail. Then I sent letters to Senator Risch, Congressman Walt Minnick, Tim Mapes, Delta’s vice president of marketing and Richard Anderson, the president of Delta. Mr. Mapes responded almost immediately. He said: “Your story touched me as a parent and I am asking Kathy to extend the vouchers through the date of your son’s travel for the holidays. Sorry for your challenging experience on us and thank you for flying Delta.”

I also soon heard from Mr. Anderson’s office and even Senator Risch. I was able to tell them about my happy ending, which makes a really nice story, I think. I would not have been able to pay full price for an airplane ticket for TJ (yep, still no job). Now he is coming home for the holidays and bonus, he will be here in time to see his brother graduate college. Kind of a nice bookend.

Me, I’m sending out the message that sometimes you don’t have to take no for an answer — and some of those folks over at Delta airlines are pretty cool. Thanks Mr. Mapes, Mr. Anderson and Kathy.

3 responses to “Fly friendly skies

  1. Good News is harder to find…

  2. Oh my god loved reading this article. I submitted your feed to my google reader!

  3. I highly enjoyed reading your article, keep on making such interesting articles!

Leave a Reply

